Welcome to Our Dreambox World - Japhar Sim - SuperSim
Forum Stats
9753 Members
225 Forums
6901 Topics
19182 Posts

Max Online: 4756 @ 02/20/20 11:12 PM
Newest Members
fritze, magix, Vicious, mrmko, njor
9752 Registered Users
Who's Online
15 registered (Toysoft, Admin, WarLord, drator, ooclaf1950, gavrrony, DreamBTH, MrMac, Vicious, kyk65, satsedhu, weafi, fritze, rapitfire, zvonko67), 3742 Guests and 467 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Shout Box

Top Posters
Admin 8444
Toysoft 2092
fairbird 715
satsedhu 701
ludo19 427
Top Posters (30 Days)
Admin 41
satsedhu 31
Alfred42 8
rober 4
DreamBTH 3
February
M Tu W Th F Sa Su
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29
Topic Options
#20437 - 01/20/20 12:39 PM Wifi help
varta99 Offline
VIP Japhar
stranger

Registered: 01/18/20
Posts: 3
I have been at it for 2 days and cant get it too work tired .

Got the Japhar SIM working perfectly with latest OpenPLI 7.2 image on my DM800HD SE. The problem is there is no wifi option in Network menu. Only LAN option. I have built in wifi.

If I install openpli-enigma2-4Plus-dm800se.nfi wifi option is in menu by default after install and works perfectly with WPA/WPA2 security ON. But found image unstable as it crashes alot {Green Screen}. Read there were more ppl with same issue. I also tried to remove unnecessary files with script. It helped a bit.

I proceeded to install all OpenPli Japhar images I could find. Only the above mentioned has a working WiFi by default.

After googling and reading a ton of info yesterday the whole day, I found info somewhere to manually install some commands with telnet:

opkg update
opkg install kernel-module-rt2800usb
opkg install firmware-rt2870

This did the trick. I reboot box and Wifi option now appears in Network Menu. I then install wifi plug in from plugin section in box menu.

I now can search all wifi networks available but cant join to any of them. If I turn Wifi WPA/WPA2 security off in router, it joins network immideatly like a charm and works perfectly. If I turn security back on, I see all available networks but it cant join. I have tried this on 2 different routers and get same result.
I also went through the wifi driver section here and installed rt2870_2.4.0.1-kernel-2.6.18-7.4-r2_dm800se.ipk but still same problem.

Side note:
This is my "new donor box" as my other one fried. It came with an E-star sim as well. This morning I tried my old image I used to use {estar-OE2.0-OpenPLi-3.0-beta-dm800se-20130304 Backup-By-Ferret.nfi} and here too wifi option is by default in Network Menu and joints Wifi network no problem with WPA/WPA2 activated in routers.

Im sure I cant be too far away to get it too work, but I need some help. Im no pro at this but am trying my utter best to resolve it first without asking for help.

All help and info much appreciated
Thanks

Top
#20438 - 01/20/20 01:10 PM Re: Wifi help [Re: varta99]
Admin Online   content
Japhar Member
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 10/19/10
Posts: 8444
Did you installed the needed plugin for Wifi below ?

opkg install enigma2-plugin-systemplugins-wirelesslan

see : https://forums.openpli.org/topic/32101-openpli-4-no-recognize-my-r8712u-wifi-card/page-2

Admin
_________________________

Top
#20439 - 01/20/20 02:04 PM Re: Wifi help [Re: Admin]
varta99 Offline
VIP Japhar
stranger

Registered: 01/18/20
Posts: 3
Yes sir I did.....I can see my wifi network perfectly but cannot
join it. Only joins network if wifi has no security turned on

As I have said, I dont have this problem with openpli-enigma2-4Plus-dm800se.nfi or with estar-OE2.0-OpenPLi-3.0-beta-dm800se-20130304 Backup-By-Ferret.nfi

With these images wifi works perfectly

Originally Posted By: Admin
Did you installed the needed plugin for Wifi below ?

opkg install enigma2-plugin-systemplugins-wirelesslan

see : https://forums.openpli.org/topic/32101-openpli-4-no-recognize-my-r8712u-wifi-card/page-2

Admin

Top
#20440 - 01/20/20 02:09 PM Re: Wifi help [Re: varta99]
Admin Online   content
Japhar Member
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 10/19/10
Posts: 8444
You seems to have installed an old Kernel 2.6 driver, its always important to install the drivers from the Feeds of the image, as well as same kernel as the image (DM800HDse Japhar images are now Kernel 3.2).

Probably a new clean installation, then installing from the feeds as you done and the wirelesslan plugin could sort out things.

opkg update
opkg install kernel-module-rt2800usb
opkg install firmware-rt2870
opkg install enigma2-plugin-systemplugins-wirelesslan

Admin
_________________________

Top
#20441 - 01/20/20 02:55 PM Re: Wifi help [Re: Admin]
varta99 Offline
VIP Japhar
stranger

Registered: 01/18/20
Posts: 3
Hey Admin

Just finished doing a fresh install.
openpli-enigma2-7.2star dm800se_Japhar_v6_GStreamer_1.17.0.1_20200109.nfi

Then telnet:

opkg update
opkg install kernel-module-rt2800usb
opkg install firmware-rt2870
opkg install enigma2-plugin-systemplugins-wirelesslan

Everything gets installed correctly with no errors

Still same problem. I see all Wifi networks clearly. Just wont connect to any with WPA/WPA2 on. Turn security off and works perfect.

I also just tried to use my mobile phone as a hotspot. Does the same thing. I did notice that when I tried to connect to mobile hotspot, there does come up 1 connection for a milisecond and then dissapears.

Originally Posted By: Admin
You seems to have installed an old Kernel 2.6 driver, its always important to install the drivers from the Feeds of the image, as well as same kernel as the image (DM800HDse Japhar images are now Kernel 3.2).

Probably a new clean installation, then installing from the feeds as you done and the wirelesslan plugin could sort out things.

opkg update
opkg install kernel-module-rt2800usb
opkg install firmware-rt2870
opkg install enigma2-plugin-systemplugins-wirelesslan

Admin

Top
#20442 - 01/20/20 03:37 PM Re: Wifi help [Re: varta99]
Admin Online   content
Japhar Member
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 10/19/10
Posts: 8444
_________________________

Top



Moderator:  NewNigma2